FIRST-TIME CUSTOMER?

See our exclusive offer for first-time customers!

See It Now
PLEASE SHARE WITH FAMILY AND FRIENDS:

Casein has emerged as a protein source for many bodybuilders and gym goers. But certain kinds of casein have their downsides. In fact, Recent research suggests casein may be the cause of a wide variety of digestive issues.

And, in the Standard American Diet, casein is found a lot in dairy milk — a dietary staple for many (and a sneaky additive in lots of popular foods). That can pose a range of dietary issues for those looking to avoid this protein.

Now, a lot of people know that cow’s milk is especially high in problematic types of casein… but is it the only type of dairy that has casein? Maybe you’re wondering: “Does goat cheese have casein?”

To learn more, including the answer to this question and the impact of casein on your body, read on.

What is Casein?

Casein is a group of proteins often found in dairy products. In fact, casein can make up as much as 80% of the protein in certain types of cow’s milk. That means casein is widely consumed in countries that consume large amounts of cow’s milk.

Not only is casein found in milk, but it’s also found in a range of other dairy products, including cheese. This means that you may be consuming casein even if you’re not drinking casein-filled milk.

Casein is now often used as a substitute for whey protein in processed food and protein powder. It has a range of other uses, too. You can find casein in paints, glues, fibers, plastics, and a host of other industrial products.

Differences Between A1 and A2 Proteins

One of the most critical components to consider are the two major types of casein protein — Casein A1 and Casein A2.

The type of protein you consume will have a different impact on your body. This is especially true if you’re casein intolerant. One of these types of protein is attributed to a range of health issues. The other is thought to have much less of an impact on the body.

Does goat cheese have casein | Gundry MDNow, there are different sources for each form of casein. You can access certain milk or cheese products that won’t have the more harmful version of casein. So, which form of casein could actually be dangerous for human consumption? The answer is A1.

A1 Casein

A1 casein, or A1 beta-casein, is in a wide variety of dairy products. This form of casein is often found in the milk of cows in Northern Europe, as well as in the Americas. This means people in Northern Europe, as well as the US, Canada, and Mexico tend to have enormous amounts of A1 casein exposure.

The A1 protein is now thought to create a range of digestive and health issues. In fact, A1 casein may have a link to some of the world’s most dangerous conditions. We’ll explore these particular problems in more detail later in this article.

Why is A1 casein so bad for your health? Some medical experts blame a peptide called beta-casomorphin-7 (BCM-7). This peptide develops when the A1 protein enters the small intestine. The BCM-7 is then absorbed into the bloodstream. This peptide may cause a range of health problems that aren’t fully understood.

Dairy that Contains Casein A1

Now, the primary source of casein is dairy products. Many people make the mistake of assuming dairy only refers to cow’s milk — this isn’t true. The dairy industry relates to the production of any form of animal milk.

So, which types of dairy products currently contain casein? Let’s look at the most common places you’re likely to find large amounts of casein. We’ll analyze dairy depending on the type of casein that it produces.

Remember, of the types of casein, A1 is the form thought to impact human health negatively.

So, which types of dairy most commonly contain A1 casein?

Holstein Friesian Cow’s Milk

Holstein Friesian cows come from Northern Europe. They were first thought to come from the Netherlands. At present, it is the cow that produces the most dairy in the world.

A high amount of the typical dairy products that you consume most likely comes from this breed of cow. It has a high A1 protein content that may be damaging to your digestive system or general health.

Ayrshire Cow’s Milk

Does goat cheese have casein | Gundry MDThis is another type of cow that originates from Northern Europe. Ayrshire cows originally come from Scotland. Again, this is an extremely popular cow for dairy production.

This type of cow does have a significant presence within the United States. Each year, thousands of Ayrshire cows are registered in the country. This means that there’s a high chance you consume dairy form this type of cow.

Like Holstein Friesian Cows, this breed is known to have large amounts of A1 casein.

British Shorthorn Cow’s Milk

As the name suggests, the British Shorthorn cow is another British breed of cattle. Certain types of British Shorthorn cow are used for dairy production. You’ll find this cow has a presence across the globe. There’s a significant chance you’ve consumed dairy from this breed of cow no matter where you live.

Cheese Created Using This Type of Milk

Unfortunately, it’s not easy to avoid the milk from the cow breeds listed above. Many kinds of cheese use cow milk in the production process. If you regularly consume cheese, you’ll need to check the dairy source if you want to avoid A1 casein.

A2 Casein

The A2 casein protein may have a much less negative impact on the human body. A2 milk is much more like the type of milk that you find in human breast milk. Studies have shown drinking A2 milk is less likely to cause harmful side effects.

A1 concerns have led some health experts to recommend other sources of milk to avoid it. If you’re want to avoid the A1 protein, you may want to consider other widely available options.

Milk products from Southern Europe feature A2 milk, as to specially marketed A2 milk.

Does Goat Cheese Have Casein?

Does goat cheese have casein | Gundry MDMore and more people are seeking out products without casein. As a result, it’s important to know which kinds of milk and cheese products are casein-free. Goat cheese has emerged as a popular alternative to traditional dairy cheese. One of the most common questions is, “Does goat cheese have casein?”

Goat cheese does have casein. But it contains A2 casein — the protein that agrees much more with the human body. You won’t have to worry about consuming large amounts of A1 casein if you want to eat goat cheese or milk. In fact, it’s an excellent alternative to traditional cow’s milk.

Unlike many health food products, including “A2 milk”, goat cheese isn’t a new entrant to the market. Cheesemakers have been using goat milk to create a broad range of cheeses for thousands of years. In fact, goat cheese is often considered a delicacy in many areas of the world.

Types of Dairy that Primarily Contain A2 Casein

To avoid the A1 type of casein, it may be worth looking at dairy products that come from a more friendly source. It’s hard to cut dairy from your diet, especially if you love cheese products.

Now, there are some different types of milk products that don’t contain large amounts of A1 casein. Let’s explore some of the most popular options in more detail below.

Guernsey/Jersey Cows

Guernsey and Jersey cows are not thought to contain large amounts of A1 casein. As you can tell from the name, this breed of cow originates from the Guernsey and Jersey islands.

The Jersey breed of this cow is often considered the second most prevalent milk breeding cow.

Charolais Cows

Charolais cows are a cattle breed that originates from the western parts of France. While this cow produces A2 milk, it’s mainly used for beef. You won’t find much of this milk available on the market.

Asian Cows

This encompasses a broad range of Asian herds. Most Asian cows have A2 type milk, making them much healthier for human consumption. As we’ll explore later, the nature of Asian cows may be why Japanese people have so few heart problems.

Limousin Cows

Limousin cows are another French breed that provides A2 milk. This breed does produce A2 milk, but you’ll find these cows aren’t used for much dairy production. Instead, they’re a massive source of lean beef around the world.

Goat Milk

Now, goat milk is one of the most popular dairy products that’s A1 casein-free. This means you can enjoy both goat milk and cheese products without having to worry.

Buffalo Milk

While buffalo milk isn’t as popular as some of the other types of milk on this list, it does offer A2 protein. In this sense, it’s an excellent alternative. Though, it does tend to be much thicker than traditional cow milk.

One of the most common uses of buffalo milk is to make cheese. Buffalo mozzarella is a great source of A2 protein that you can find in most grocery stores.

Does goat cheese have casein | Gundry MD

Donkey Milk

Donkey milk is another excellent source of A2 milk. You can find plenty of organic donkey milk options on the market. Also, this milk is known for being much less fatty than other forms of milk. This makes it a popular choice for specific diets.

Camel Milk

Camel milk is one more form of milk that isn’t as popular as some of the other options available on this list. Still, you can find camel milk in most major cities, or from distributors.

Also, camel milk is known for its other nutritional benefits. For example, camel milk has much more vitamin C and iron than traditional cow’s milk. You’ll be gaining a range of benefits if you opt for camel milk instead of A1 cow milk!

Non-Animal Milk

On top of all the different types of animal milk that can be used for A2-type milk, you can also use non-animal milk. These milks can help you avoid the A1 protein:

  • Coconut milk
  • Almond milk
  • Hemp milk

While these kinds of milk may not have the same flavor as dairy, they’re a good alternative.

Be sure that your non-animal milk provides the nutrients you’d get from a dairy source. If not, find a way to supplement your diet to make up for this loss.

Buy Certified A2 Milk or Cheese

Does goat cheese have casein | Gundry MDIf you want to buy A2 milk, you need to make sure that you’re buying the right product. It’s often a good idea to buy milk that specifies that it doesn’t have A1 casein. If you don’t look for this clarification, you may get milk that is mixed with various milk sources.

This is especially true for those who are explicitly seeking cow milk. It is common to see an A1-A2 milk blend that includes both types of casein. Fortunately, there is a range of different products that offer this clarification.

Other Products that May Contain Casein

Like many food products, casein has a wide variety of applications. You may be consuming casein, even if you’ve eliminated most dairy products from your diet. To avoid casein, it’s important to understand other areas that you may find it.

Powder and Fluid Protein

If you like to work out, there’s a chance that you take protein supplements to boost your muscle growth. In recent years, protein supplements have grown into a massive industry. Everyone is trying to find the secret to improving muscle tone and mass.

Unfortunately, this means many people take products that are bad for their bodies. So many powder protein products out there claim to help boost muscle mass. Many contain casein. We’ll explore why this may be bad news shortly.

Sausages and Other Processed Meats

Believe it or not, processed meats also typically contain casein. Processed meat producers use casein as a binding agent to ensure meat stays together. See? Casein is much more than just dairy!

Pasta

Pasta is another primary source of casein that people often overlook. Many different pasta brands contain casein. Check the packaging for any mention of casein. If you can, switching to vegetable-based pasta may help you avoid it.

Various Baked Goods

Does goat cheese have casein | Gundry MDUnfortunately, baked goods will likely also contain casein. The protein is sometimes used to improve the texture of cookies and other treats. To avoid casein altogether, you need to know how the baked goods you want were made.

Symptoms of Casein Intolerance

You might not realize that some symptoms you have when you eat are from casein intolerance. This section will explore the various manifestations of casein intolerance. Many people experience lactose intolerance. Few realize that this may be associated with casein intake.

Some scientists suggest casein is the culprit behind lactose intolerance. They say lactose isn’t to blame. If you consume casein and experience these symptoms, you may have casein intolerance.

If you’ve got questions about whether YOU are lactose or Casein intolerant, it is best to see a doctor.

  • Stomach Pain/Discomfort

One primary side effect of lactose intolerance or casein intolerance is stomach discomfort. This may feel like general discomfort, or it may involve more acute pain. Many people report that drinking milk makes them feel uneasy. If this happens to you, it could be a significant sign that you have casein intolerance.

  • Bloating

Another side effect is stomach bloating. Do you experience bloating after you consume dairy products? This may be a sign that you have a casein intolerance. This is one of the most common side effects that people first notice.

  • Gas

A gastrointestinal issue that often correlates with intolerance to casein is gas. If you often experience gas after eating, check the casein sources above. You may be getting too much in your system.

  • Itchy Skin

Turns out, casein intolerance manifests itself in areas outside of the gut. In fact, itchy skin is a widespread side effect for people who are casein intolerant. If you have developed itchy skin after consuming dairy, it may be an issue related to casein.

  • Congestion

Congestion is another casein-related side effect that many people don’t understand. Congestion isn’t directly related to your gut. But an intolerance to the protein can sometimes result in persistent congestion. Your body may be trying to fight off a harmful agent — casein.

  • Runny Nose

A runny nose is another allergic reaction people with casein intolerance may experience. Pay attention to when you develop a runny nose. If it coincides with dairy consumption, it may be due to your casein intolerance.

  • Trouble Breathing

If you are severely allergic to casein, you may experience anaphylactic shock. If you have trouble breathing or throat swelling, seek medical attention. While this isn’t as common as some of the other side effects in this section, it’s always important to keep in mind.

Does goat cheese have casein | Gundry MD

 

Potential Negative Consequences of Casein Intake

While the above symptoms can cause discomfort, it can be worse. There are more severe consequences linked to consuming certain types of dairy products. Many of these consequences relate to the consumption of A1 protein.

Respected scientists and medical professionals are researching casein’s impact on the body. Results have shown casein is linked to serious ailments. These include blood sugar problems, heart health issues, and more.

Other Issues

There is evidence that eliminating certain types of cow milk from a diet can be beneficial. It may help improve the health of people with certain neurological problems. Clinical trials are looking into a possible link between A1 protein and worsening symptoms.

Evidence suggests gluten and casein may impact cognitive abilities in people with autism. Again, the jury is still out, but diet (and casein) may have an impact on developmental disorders.

Should You Avoid Casein?

Diet and nutrition play a significant role in your ability to lead a healthy, enjoyable life. Many people overlook diet when assessing their mental and physical health. They shouldn’t. You should always avoid foods that create long-term problems for you and your health.

Bad news about milk seems ridiculous to many American consumers. Ads touting the benefits of regular milk consumption are everywhere. Unfortunately, researchers have thought otherwise for decades.

There is clear evidence that something in milk often disagrees with the human body.

Whether you realize it or not, A1 casein may be causing a range of problems for your health. If you have an acute intolerance to the protein, it may be causing a variety of immediate side effects. You might begin experiencing negative consequences later in your life.

Consider Casein’s Impact

For this reason, it’s always a good idea to assess if casein needs to play a role in your life. You should also consider the impact that it may be having on your family or your children. Your children are dependent on your judgment for their nutritional health. it’s critical that you help them avoid substances that may harm their digestion.

Given the current evidence, it seems reasonable to avoid A1 casein consumption. You can still enjoy the same types of foods you love. Just make some substitutes and enjoy life A1-free!

Verdict: Does Goat Cheese Have Casein?

To re-answer the original question: Does goat cheese have casein? Yes, but it’s not the type of casein thought to have negative consequences for your health.

In fact, goat’s milk has significant benefits for those looking to avoid some types of casein. In many ways, goat cheese is a natural alternative to cow milk.

As it turns out, there are also plenty of other alternatives that you can turn to if you want to avoid A1 casein. Many other animals produce dairy products that only contain A2 casein. In some cases, these other forms of milk have other nutritional benefits as well.

Cow’s Milk: A Final Note

If you do decide to buy cow’s milk, you should always make sure that it has A2 casein. There are now brands that provide you with guarantees their milk is free of A1 casein. It’s an excellent way to ensure you’re getting the right type of protein.

Learn More:
What Are Lectins? Brushing Up on These Plant Proteins
8 Reasons Why You Need to Eat More Good Fats
Dr. Gundry’s Broccoli Cheddar Soup Recipe

PLEASE SHARE WITH FAMILY AND FRIENDS: